Regional Council

The West Coast Region (Te Kaunihera Whakakotahi o Te Tai Poutini) extends over a distance of 600 km from Kahurangi Point in the north to Awarua Point in the south - greater than the distance between Auckland and Wellington. It is bounded in the east by the Southern Alps and in the west by the Tasman Sea and has a land area of 23,000 square kilometres, or 8.5% of New Zealand's land area. By area this makes the West Coast the fifth largest region in New Zealand.